Machine Quilting Block Party

Yet another one of my works in progress. This is Leah Day’s Machine Quilting Block Party. If you want to join in on the fun, it’s best to purchase the patterns during the first five days of the month. All blocks are on sale then for $4.99, after that the price increases to $9.99. On the first and second Mondays of each month, Leah posts videos showing how to piece and quilt the block of the month. I have learned so much from Leah’s videos and website. Most of her content is on the web for free. I have purchased a few items from her in addition to these patterns; all are well done and worth the money.

I just downloaded the March pattern today and cut out the required pieces. I will wait until next Monday to watch her video before piecing it. I decided to use the same colors that she presented as they aren’t colors I would generally choose. I prefer cool colors over the warm ones. The colors are growing on me though so I am glad I went with them. Kona cotton colors used: snow, corn yellow, tangerine, and true red.

This is again a quilt as you go so I have chosen warm colors from my fat quarter stash of Fossil Fern by Benartex.

IMG_0606IMG_0604

For block one I marked all the lines prior to quilting with the exception of the border. The border I just marked with dots.

IMG_0605

Block two I did less marking. No markings used at all for the center red square or for the white surrounding the yellow star. I used dots to mark the straight lines in the orange and yellow areas and for the border design.

IMG_0603

Love doing theses since I feel like I have completed something each month. I will post each month as I work through the project.

Until next time.

Diane Signature1

Leave a Reply

