Block 6 – Focal Point

IMG_0683

Love this! Again so fun to do. I am learning to like the smaller piecing. The results are so nice. I can’t wait to quilt it. Here are some of my thoughts about the piecing of this block.

IMG_0675

I used my cling on that I marked with the appropriate markings so I didn’t have to mark the fabric. It worked great. I think I will invest in the commercial version of the product: Clearly Perfect Angles. I didn’t have to mark the half square triangles or the flying geese. I don’t like marking,

IMG_0673

I used my 6 1/2 inch ruler to square up the half square triangles, lining up the diagonal and making sure that the block is 2 1/2 inch square.

I left the complete rectangle on the flying geese as I find it helps me to when sewing the blocks together. I do cut out the middle layer of fabric as shown in the photo above. I make sure I press and starch them well prior to sewing them together.

IMG_0680

I press all my seams open which allows me to see my points when sewing the sections together.

IMG_0683

It’s not as flat as I would like it even with the seams pressed open, but that’s because of all the seams. It won’t show once it’s quilted and washed.

I am very happy with my fabric choices for this project – Kona solids and Benartex Fossil Fern. I am trying to use some of the warmer colors as I tend to choose cool over warm.

Go visit The Splendid Sampler to download the blocks. Even if you don’t want to join now, you should collect the patterns now in case you want to do it later. My understanding is that once the year is over, they patterns will be put in a book and you will have to purchase it.

Until next time!

Diane Signature1

One thought on “Block 6 – Focal Point

Leave a Reply

