Quilting Block 6 – Focal Point

IMG_0688

Minimal quilting on The Splendid Sampler Block 6 Focal Point so that the piecing stands out. I was trying to highlight the arrows, but I think each person sees something different when looking at this block.

IMG_0687

I only marked the border and didn’t stick to my plan of quilting this. I changed my mind when I put it on the machine.  Here’s my drawing of what I had planned on quilting.

IMG_0698

I free motioned with the open toe foot on my Juki F600. I will post about my quilting set up in another post.

IMG_0686

Here’s my order of quilting on this one:

  • Stitched in the ditch around the center square of four triangles, the arrow points.
  • Straight line quilted each of the arrow points and then broke thread.
  • Stitched in the ditch around the outside of the star.
  • Stitched the straight lines in the corner ends of the arrows and in the ditch around them.
  • Quilted the borders to travel to the next corner
  • Stitched in the ditch between the block and the border

IMG_0689

I have been using backing fabrics that match the front colors of the blocks. In a future post I will show how to trim each of the blocks and start laying out the blocks to try to decide how to connect them.

Until next time!

Diane Signature1

3 thoughts on “Quilting Block 6 – Focal Point

Leave a Reply

