Rail Fence Quilting

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There are four different quilting designs for the rail fence blocks in the Building Blocks Quilt Pattern. I am using this project to practice both ruler quilting and free motion quilting. I always watch Leah’s videos that correspond with the pattern first even if I am going to do it a different way. She offers much more in the videos that goes along with the printed pattern.

IMG_0711

I ruler quilted the straight lines of this block. I only marked dots to guide the ruler work. The ruler definitely produces straighter lines. It helps to be able to estimate a quarter inch since lining up the ruler with the dots requires you line it up 1/4 inch from the dot. The needle is 1/4 inch from the edge of the ruler foot. I find I need to use the spacing guide that came with my ruler set sometimes to line up the ruler accurately. It works well but is a bit time consuming.

IMG_0704

IMG_0713

For the wiggly u-shapes and the teeth, I marked the u-shapes although I think I could have just marked them using dots. I marked the teeth with dots and dashes.

IMG_0705

I used the open-toe free motion foot (no rulers) for the teeth and the u-shapes.

IMG_0712

I completely marked the cursive words block. Again, I wish I had only marked half of the block to really try to free motion it. Once I did the first set, the second set was much easier. I find the cursive words easy to do since it is really just writing with the thread.

IMG_0714

For the circles and stairs block, I used the ruler foot. The circles were 2 inches in diameter which happens to be the size circle template that I have so I got to practice with it. The lines marked at 90 degrees on the template are what I used to line it up with marks I made at the midpoint of the squares on the block.

IMG_0707

For the stairs, I stitched in the ditch and used the straight ruler to mark the first set of stairs surrounding the circles. I then use some template plastic that I cut using my Cricut machine as a guide to echo the straight lines. It really worked well; easier than using the actual ruler and the results were good. I had marked the block with dashes for the stairs, but I really didn’t need to use them.

IMG_0706

I will be making additional guides for the ruler foot and will post how I make them with my Cricut Explore Air when I do so.

Overall I am happy with my results and learned lots while quilting these blocks.

IMG_0715

Until next time!

Diane Signature1

3 thoughts on “Rail Fence Quilting

Leave a Reply

