Block 26 – Dreaming of Dresdens

IMG_0978

Love Dresdens! I will be including how I went about putting this one together without actually printing the instructions with templates from The Splendid Sampler.I need the blade template, but didn’t know what size it was. I searched The Splendid Sampler Facebook Group using dresden printer as the search term. Great group and I found the dimensions – 2 inches tall, 2 inches at its widest and 1 inch at its narrow end. I used template plastic to make the blade template. I stacked each stack of  four 2 1/2 inch square of the three different colors. I used double stick tape to attach the template to the top square and used the ruler on top of the template to get the straight cuts.

To make the circles, I used a method I saw on You Tube or Facebook. I can’t find it again, so here is what I did. You need:

Cut the fabric much larger than you need to cover the circle template so you can get the rubber band around it and pull it really tight. I sprayed the fabric with starch prior to putting the rubber band on. Once you have the rubber bands and starch on, you need to let them dry. Once dry cut off the rubber band and excess fabric. Then remove the template and give it a good press with the iron. This is the best way I have found to make circles, especially the small ones.

IMG_0975

I didn’t applique until I quilted the block. I just used some glue to keep the pieces in place while I quilted. Here’s how I quilted it:

  • Blanket stitch around the large lime circle and the outside of the dresden
  • Top stitched the small lime circles and the stems to secure in place using free motion foot
  • Stitch in the ditch around the individual dresden fans
  • Spiral starting in the center – No marking this one!
  • Wavy U-shapes around the outside of the dresden
  • Stitch the border design like the other blocks

The quilting is really visible on the black backing!

IMG_0979

Until Next Time!

Diane Signature1

Quilt It Now! is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.

3 thoughts on “Block 26 – Dreaming of Dresdens

  1. Crystal says:

    I think this might be my favorite of your blocks so far! Looks so cool- the colors, the quilting, back and front. Also really excited about the circle method to try out… Thanks for the great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beth says:

    Thank you so much for your easy-to-follow directions. I hate making circles, but I can’t wait to try your method of making them to see if it will change my mind.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

